Kittens and Puppies

A few weeks ago I went through the orientation for the Los Angeles Animal Services volunteer program, and since I have been approved I’ve volunteered a few hours at the shelter closest to my home. While I loved walking dogs at the privately owned shelter in Beverly Hills, it’s not nearly as close, and the last few times I had gone there, all the dogs had been walked several times that day. While I really do like the shelter and the people who run the place, I wasn’t feeling that my time was really needed there, as they were getting a plethora of volunteers showing up every day.

Cut to: A friend at the gym telling me how the city’s animal shelters need volunteers to walk dogs…

So, I looked into it. It’s a city program, that means there are rules, rules, formalities, rules, classes, approval processes, and rules…you just can’t go in and walk dogs — no matter how much experience you have. So, while that has been frustrating, it always feels great when I can be of service to beings that require care or some attention.

I’ve only been cleared to do general volunteer services at this time, so I’ve cleaned kitten cages, puppy cages, cleaned cages in the cat and dog infirmaries, done laundry, washed dog bowls, pulled trash. Not all of it’s fun, cuddle time with cuteness, but as long as I feel like my time there is needed, I’ve been happy enough.

I have posted a few videos on Instagram, so, if you need a smile, feel free to scroll through the posts and check out some cute kittens and puppies.

@TomKiesche

Direct Link: http://instagram.com/tomkiesche/?hl=en

For information about how to volunteer there, which shelter might be closest to you in Los Angeles, or if you’re looking for a new pet…a dog, cat, bunny, turtle, hamster…which needs you as much as you need him or her…feel free to click the link.

And let me just say that while kittens and puppies are CUTE, with adopting an older animal they tend to require far less time, and you often know their personality and temperament immediately, or within few days of bringing them home.

http://www.laanimalservices.com

For the record: the fact that city shelters are sometimes forced to euthanize animals kept me away from volunteering there, but if animals are healthy and are legally adoptable then the animals typically remain at the shelter until the find homes.

Anyway, feel free to check out the videos and pictures on Instagram if you want.

– Quiche Out

 

Leave a Reply

