Hollywood Premiere Party – growing and developing

Last night was a definite shift with the rehearsals of Hollywood Premiere Party The Show, as we basically went from a small group of actors, to nearly the full cast. So far it’s been a fascinating ride. Having a script which basically doesn’t exist other than a resource to draw on… it really is gearing up to be like just an actual party, where there are some nutty things may happen. Each rehearsal that we’ve added actors in, we’ve lost a percentage of them, and the show has had to recast. I’m sure the individual reasons have varied, but it seems much more like varying levels of comfortability. It’s very confronting not to have a curtain to hide behind, to be on “between the lines,” to interact with the public in character. Each time the show has recast, the replacement actors have seemingly had a better idea of what the character they were playing demanded of them.

Link to Hollywood Premiere Party: http://hollywoodpremiereparty.com/

Truthfully, the biggest reason I took this challenge on, was that it sounded like something that would incredibly difficult for me to do. In the past I had avoided murder mystery shows and interactive shows, however with a character that was somewhat designed for me, and Kerry Logan at the helm, someone I know and trust, I figured embracing the form might teach me something about myself. Possibly I might become a better actor, improvisor, writer, or artist. Possibly I meet some great actors. Possibly I may book something or meet someone else through exposure. Possibly I would learn something through my character’s eyes, through interaction… AND quite possibly I learn something by simply not being completely comfortable. As life has taught me, sometimes discomfort leads us to becoming better versions of ourselves, not entirely unlike my Burning Man experience several years ago. Side note: If you never saw the video about my Burning Man experience, it has well over a million hits at this point. In short, I loved it AND I hated it. Like many things in life, very few things are really one sided, one way, if you’re open. Link to that video: https://youtu.be/wr-gLMje1pA

Anyway, with HPP… 


It was 360 degrees of liars in rehearsal last night as basically more funny actors jumped into funny character and made up backstories and answers to impromptu questions thrown at them… I’m really starting to get what the night might be, what it’s intending to accomplish, and I’m sure in the remaining weeks of rehearsal and first nine shows, it will continue to define itself. 

It’s a premiere party of a movie. Every night the show runs it will be recreated, and every night it will most likely be a completely different experience. Party goers will change. Questions will change. Interactions will change. There are actors throughout the venue, all the star of their own show. There are no leads. There are no support characters. There are only party goers. Some audience members may choose to not be interacted with, some may embrace it.

For friends struggling to pay the rent, this is by no means inexpensive. It’s not black box theatre. It is immersive experience. Geared for people outside the industry who want the chance to walk a red carpet and have a “Hollywood” or “Show biz” experience. Things are ever changing, but we’re told there wil be food. Drinks. Limos. Multimedia. Music. Tech support. CCTV. Things you may or may not see at an actual premiere party. Somethings may change from night to night as the show finds itself weekly. There have been some rumblings going on already about being highlighted by an actual TV show one night, and by being “crashed” by celebs whose managers and agents are supposedly calling, as they are interested in walking the fake red carpet, or being interviewed by the fake tabloid TV show host… 

Whatever happens from this point on, it’s already been a great learning experience in many many ways.

– Quiche Out


I will leave you with two additional things, the first I’ve posted before, the fake trailer to the fake film, “Love & Waffles.” And second, a YouTube video that helped me get my head a little more around what this art form some times can be though other people’s experience… Some college students discussing their experience with a very well known, long running immersive show called “Tony and Tina’s Wedding” that they recreated. 

I am sure that HPP will become more flushed out and crazier the longer it runs, as people build upon what worked in shows previous, changing less and less nightly, but I also wonder what sort of magic the first few audiences were part of, who were at the intial shows, watching the original cast, of “Tony&Tina’s,” in NYC decades ago, or with similar shows. Anyway, we’re on the roller coaster, it’s clicking as it’s ascending up the first big hill, and we’re all excited and holding on for what may very likely be one heck of a ride.

Link to “Love & Waffles” trailer: http://youtu.be/zFCaoNmEKJ0

Link to students talking about their experience with a well known interactive show: https://youtu.be/QthWh28WE9s

 

Leave a Reply

