Yesterday I volunteered at a nursing care facility with 3 other singers. Here’s what I ended up singing & what I learned

Yesterday I volunteered at a nursing care facility with 3 other singers. Here’s what I ended up singing & what I learned. 1st don’t assume you know who the patients are, and know you’re pretty much locked out & in.

1. Luck Be A Lady – went over big, showy, uptempo & recognizable, a few people sing along, though none got the words right. One woman who kept asking where her teacher was, was soon taken away, I will remember to use that in my future, maybe in Jury Duty.

2. Can’t Help Falling In Love – A few tears. A few smiles. Trying not to get distracted figuring out what words are being mouthed. One woman is definitely mouthing, “I love you,” over & over, and blowing kisses. If I can’t get out I may have a new girlfriend.

3. Mack The Knife – thought this was going to be the last song, it went over big, building song, showy, uptempo & recognizable. It’s really odd singing about gloves, knives and murder here, but don’t think they noticed. At this point I have been informed by a boyfriend that his girlfriend, in the first row dated both Sinatra & Bobby Darren. Great.

Surprise! Bonus set!

4. Summer Wind – wrong-word singalongs & kisses no longer distracting. Song went over well, but it’s really weird singing about anything that could be interpreted as “death” here. “I lost you…”

5. Play Me – 40 year old song, definitely too current, but that didn’t stop the sort-of-singalong, or tears. A few residents haven’t changed expressions the entire time. Song was appreciated, but maybe like when you sit in a living room only to have to watch your sibling’s kids show you what they learned in ballet & karate classes. I swear 1 guy’s eyeballing me.

6. Anthem (from Chess) – they liked the explanation of the song but had no idea who I was and what was happening once I started singing. No one sang along, and I think I may have scared away my new girlfriend.

I had a picture taken and signed an autograph… The experience was endearing, lovely, depressing, fun, frightening… & I’m glad I did it.

– Quiche Out

Nursing Facility

 

2 thoughts on “Yesterday I volunteered at a nursing care facility with 3 other singers. Here’s what I ended up singing & what I learned

  1. That was very nice of you and the other entertainers. I am sure you made there day a lot more interesting and happy. Thanks for taking the time out of your day to help bring some joy into their life. God bless you all!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

