Gordon Willis Anecdote

— Upon reading about Gordon Willis death, I posted the following on Facebook this morning. Posted here for those of you that are on there.

LINK: http://variety.com/2014/film/news/the-godfather-cinematographer-gordon-willis-dies-at-82-1201185649/

 

“I met him in NYC, one of my very few gigs as a stand in. Over the course of my time on set, he dropped a bunch of gems I learned from… I believe I even picked up a book where he discussed lighting soon after…

However, my favorite quote of the day was… As I was in some sort of odd position, holding it, as people were adjusting light stands… He looked at me and uttered…

“Hell of a way to spend a day, huh?”

And that stuck with me…”

– Quiche Out

Leave a Reply

