Two Thank You Notes & a T-shirt.

ThankYouNotes April 2014

Honestly, I’m not really sure what I’m doing with my life right now, or what I want to be when I grow up… Those who “follow” my career know that the cards haven’t been falling in my favor with theatrical (TV and Film) work as of late… And though it’s easier to blame others, I have to take full responsibility.

So, when I was asked to help out with a few things this weekend… To help others with their pursuit of “dreams,” I had a hard time saying “no.”

I didn’t run the ideas up flag poles, ask my agents or manager, I didn’t consider ramifications, my career, what I might be giving up, or even take a public opinion poll…. I just said “Yes.”

photo

I don’t know if my drive to UCSB, and time on a Sunday, was truly appreciated by any of the students who asked questions, or if any of the answers I gave were truly valued by the people asking… AND it’s not really for me to say. BUT I will tell you that the reason I was asked up there to speak, was that the senior organizing the event, remembered me from speaking at UCSB 4 years ago, when she was a freshman… And on Sunday, before we started, she told me that a piece of advice I gave, at that point, had helped her focus her future career goals over the past three years.

Screen Shot 2014-04-28 at 11.28.47 AM

And on Friday and Saturday night, while it was an ego challenge to play a tiny cameo, in a tiny basement theater in Silverlake… basically sitting in the audience for an entire show, not smiling or enjoying myself, not recognizing friends… Playing a character in order to support others on stage who were being talented, funny and the “stars”… On the second night, I got two surprises while exiting…

The first one was as I was actually being highly praised by a woman from Orange County, that I didn’t know (“How did you not crack a smile the whole time? You’re amazing!”)… Her friend, stunned me, when he ineffectively whispered to her, how he has heard me sing a few times at different venues in Los Angeles, and how, “great” a singer I was… And how she had to hear me sing live.

It was sort of  like a sketch and slightly comical when she then turned to me and said, “I hear you’re a great singer too.”

The second surprise happened when I sat down at the bar… When the bartender delivered my drink, he disclosed that he had really enjoyed my work in a stage show years ago… And when he told me the title of the show… I was again floored. That show was over 10 years ago!

So… While thank you notes and T-Shirts don’t pay rent, don’t go towards pensions, buy fancy cars, get highlighted on tabloid TV shows, don’t get talked about in deal making lunches, make you a “name” and help you book a series regular role or feature film… Doing things that aren’t “career moves,” “don’t add up,” “make sense to do,” or “make you a star…” Well… They do have value.

– Quiche Out

PS. The weekend’s experience, led me to saying “Yes,” to something next weekend… Just ’cause you never really know what happens when you do say, “Yes.”

PSS. The show was very funny on Friday & Saturday and I recommend it if they ever do it again, and the students at UCSB on Sunday were all very sweet, and I wish them all a ton of good fortune.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Two Thank You Notes & a T-shirt.

  1. That was so nice Tom. It had me smiling for you. It just goes to show how you never know what influence you might have on people and what effect you might have on their lives.

    Like

Leave a Reply

